The Hit List #2

Woohoo it’s Friday, hope all of you in Vic and Tas have your party pants on for the long weekend.  Thought I could start your little holiday off with some light reading about a few of my fave things this week.

1. Girl Crush: Kate Moss shot by Terry Richardson
I freaking love her she will always be my icon.  She has the most amazing style and if I could have anyone’s wardrobe it would be hers (possibly a couple of sizes bigger) and out of any long standing supermodel Kate has been and always will be my fave.  I got a little spoiled this last xmas when Mr Long gave me the Kate Moss photo book which I flick through on a daily basis (guys if you’re bored already there are a couple of TASTEFUL nude pics).  The shots of KM by Terry Richardson are nothing but incredible so I threw a few in for good measure.  Kate you’ll always be my icon.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

2. Facial Awareness. . . I don’t know if thats bad taste or not?!
Me being the sensitive soul that I am has ridiculously sensitive skin.  The moment I moved to Melboune it all went even more haywire and everything seemed to make my face itch or as dry as one of those parched river beds you see on cheesy beauty infomercials.  BUT as in cheesy infomercials I found “my solutions”.

Image

Cleanser: Purity by Philosophy Not a new find but one I started using a few years ago but got swayed by pretty packaging and ad campaigns of other brands as you do and forgot how good this wee gem is.  It dissolves all the gunk on your face including eye make up and at the risk of sounding too cliché leaves your skin feeling fresh as a daisy.

Eye Cream: Aesop Parsley Seed Eye Cream Because I’m not as young as I used to be.  It does all the de-puffing and anti wrinkle stuff, smells amazing and also has a place in my heart because Mr Long picked out all by himself.

3. Food Glorious Food: Açai bowls.
If I look through all the photos on my phone I’d say almost 30% are food. Is it any wonder I consider it one of life’s greatest indulgences.  While in that states back in ’09 i became 100% obsessed with the Açai bowls at Swami’s cafe in Encinitas they’re made with fruit juice not soy milk and going by the huge number of reviews on urbanspoon and yelp I’m not the only fan.  They’re possibly the tastiest breakfast treat I’ve ever had with toasted granola and fresh fruit sprinkled on top unfortunately they never taste as good if I make them at home.  I’ve seen them around Melbourne a bit but again they’re just not as good as my first time and when I found on the menu at a Raw energy cafe in Mooloolaba I was pretty skeptical and it was probably the best one I’ve tasted in Australia so far.  Maybe someone needs to get one going here?!  I wish I had pics of my original taster but obviously I was too busy digging so I stole one from their facebook page.

Image

Swami’s Açai bowl you have my food heart.

Image

4.  A favourite of Mine:  Spike Sleeveless Leather Jacket by Friend of Mine
I used to have a pretty tight relationship with the Friend of Mine wardrobe and I have to say this piece is probably my all time favourite even over the two dresses I have in three plus+ colours.  At first I was a little apprehensive as I am blessed with broad shoulders from my water baby days and and i thought a vest would make me look a little mannish.  But I got over it and don’t really care because I love the luxe leather look and as I stated in one of the first posts I’m a casual girl through and through.   You can get it in black and white.

Image

Image

Have a fab weekend wherever you are xx L

Leave a Reply

